About PCAN-view software

This forum covers issues concerning multiple software products.
Post Reply
neuezeal
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 13. Jan 2022, 07:25

About PCAN-view software

Post by neuezeal » Thu 13. Jan 2022, 07:35

Hello,

I am trying to do a loopback test.

The hardware configuration is as the picture in the attached file.

How do I send a message?
Image

Thank you.
Attachments
KakaoTalk_20220113_152837207_01.jpg
KakaoTalk_20220113_152837207_01.jpg (421.99 KiB) Viewed 1047 times
KakaoTalk_20220113_152837207.jpg
KakaoTalk_20220113_152837207.jpg (585.14 KiB) Viewed 1047 times
pcan1.jpg
pcan1.jpg (70.46 KiB) Viewed 1047 times

K.Wagner
Software Development
Software Development
Posts: 835
Joined: Wed 22. Sep 2010, 13:36

Re: About PCAN-view software

Post by K.Wagner » Thu 13. Jan 2022, 07:41

Hello,

all you need to know is in the PCAN-View help file. Try hitting the key F1 from the PCAN_View UI:
Documentation from PCAN-View for transmitting a message
Documentation from PCAN-View for transmitting a message
Help.PNG (54.01 KiB) Viewed 1044 times
Best regards,
Keneth

M.Heidemann
Sales & Support
Sales & Support
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri 20. Sep 2019, 13:31

Re: About PCAN-view software

Post by M.Heidemann » Thu 13. Jan 2022, 09:20

Hello,

Some additional info:

The cabling shown in your pictures may cause issues, as you are missing termination (120Ohm Resistor between CAN-High and CAN-Low on both bus-ends,
you should measure ~ 60 Ohms between CAN-High and CAN-Low on the bus in an unpowered state).
CAN requires termination to properly work, otherwise you might run into error-frames and bus errors.

Also you should consider improving the connection of cables which is currently taped together with clear tape,
i would suggest to shorten each exposed cable end a bit, twist them together, fuse them
with solder and either use electrical tape or schrink tubing - if available - to provide some insulation.

This way the cabling will be more reliable and can be moved with breaking apart.

Best Regards

Marvin

neuezeal
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 13. Jan 2022, 07:25

Re: About PCAN-view software

Post by neuezeal » Fri 14. Jan 2022, 01:43

Thank you.

neuezeal
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 13. Jan 2022, 07:25

Re: About PCAN-view software

Post by neuezeal » Fri 14. Jan 2022, 01:52

M.Heidemann wrote:
Thu 13. Jan 2022, 09:20
Hello,

Some additional info:

The cabling shown in your pictures may cause issues, as you are missing termination (120Ohm Resistor between CAN-High and CAN-Low on both bus-ends,
you should measure ~ 60 Ohms between CAN-High and CAN-Low on the bus in an unpowered state).
CAN requires termination to properly work, otherwise you might run into error-frames and bus errors.

Also you should consider improving the connection of cables which is currently taped together with clear tape,
i would suggest to shorten each exposed cable end a bit, twist them together, fuse them
with solder and either use electrical tape or schrink tubing - if available - to provide some insulation.

This way the cabling will be more reliable and can be moved with breaking apart.

Best Regards

Marvin
Hello,

Attach detailed photos.
As mentioned above, if the line connection structure is improved, will it be possible to send and receive CAN data normally through pcan-view?

Thank you very much.
Attachments
pcan.jpg
pcan.jpg (374.54 KiB) Viewed 1015 times

neuezeal
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 13. Jan 2022, 07:25

Re: About PCAN-view software

Post by neuezeal » Fri 14. Jan 2022, 01:59

M.Heidemann wrote:
Thu 13. Jan 2022, 09:20
Hello,

Some additional info:

The cabling shown in your pictures may cause issues, as you are missing termination (120Ohm Resistor between CAN-High and CAN-Low on both bus-ends,
you should measure ~ 60 Ohms between CAN-High and CAN-Low on the bus in an unpowered state).
CAN requires termination to properly work, otherwise you might run into error-frames and bus errors.

Also you should consider improving the connection of cables which is currently taped together with clear tape,
i would suggest to shorten each exposed cable end a bit, twist them together, fuse them
with solder and either use electrical tape or schrink tubing - if available - to provide some insulation.

This way the cabling will be more reliable and can be moved with breaking apart.

Best Regards

Marvin
Hello,

I set it like this
If you send a message
status: Error Passive.

To solve this problem, can I improve the line connection as described above?

Thank you.
Attachments
can_send.jpg
can_send.jpg (133.08 KiB) Viewed 1014 times

neuezeal
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu 13. Jan 2022, 07:25

Re: About PCAN-view software

Post by neuezeal » Fri 14. Jan 2022, 03:22

Hello,

I made a fix to connect the resistor.
If you look at pcan-view, it seems to work properly, right?

Thank you.
Attachments
pcan-view_work.jpg
pcan-view_work.jpg (183.61 KiB) Viewed 1007 times
pcan_connection.jpg
pcan_connection.jpg (313.36 KiB) Viewed 1007 times

M.Heidemann
Sales & Support
Sales & Support
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri 20. Sep 2019, 13:31

Re: About PCAN-view software

Post by M.Heidemann » Fri 14. Jan 2022, 07:38

Hi,
By "bus ends" we refer to the end of the bus, in this case thise would be where your db9-connectors are.
However it seems to work regardless -for now.
If you want to be 100% that no error frames are happening you should check "error frames" in the trace-options
in PCAN-View and record a trace (Red record button in the toolbar):
Trace_options.png
Trace_options.png (9.74 KiB) Viewed 999 times
A trace is a log of the BUS-traffic, if error frames are enabled it will also log those.
If you are seeing error frames, you should consider improving the cabling further.

As an example you can example look at the PCAN-Cable 2:

https://www.peak-system.com/PCAN-Kabel- ... .html?&L=1

Under description you'll see a graphics on how the cable is configured.

Feel free to contact us, if you have more questions.

Best Regards

Marvin

Post Reply