SendCommand - Set J1939 Baud Rate 37

RP1210 Development Package and RP1210 Connectivity to PEAK CAN Interfaces
Post Reply
dcabernel
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 23. Aug 2021, 23:52

SendCommand - Set J1939 Baud Rate 37

Post by dcabernel » Tue 24. Aug 2021, 00:13

For the longest time I thought this command wasn't working because it was throwing a '144 ERR_INVALID_COMMAND'.

I finally released it was doing that because I was setting the rate to the default ('5 250K'). So changing it to '6' worked, and then setting it back to '5' worked once. All subsequent calls to '5' resulted in the same error. I think this is bad coding, it should not through an error if the command is just repeated.

Also, 'Get Protocol Connection Speed 45' doesn't seem to work either, I get all 0's back no matter the baud setting. Does it report the above setting or the detected baud rate of the connected device?

K.Wagner
Software Development
Software Development
Posts: 796
Joined: Wed 22. Sep 2010, 13:36

Re: SendCommand - Set J1939 Baud Rate 37

Post by K.Wagner » Tue 24. Aug 2021, 10:22

Hello,

indeed, this seems to be an interpretation problem in the library. When calling the command "SetJ1939Baudrate" a sub-function is called to change the baudrate. Since the baurdate is the same, no change is done and so the function fails. We will check this behavior within the next release.

Regarding "Get Protocol Connection Speed", we cannot see any problem with this. Could you share the code you are using for that?
Best regards,
Keneth

dcabernel
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon 23. Aug 2021, 23:52

Re: SendCommand - Set J1939 Baud Rate 37

Post by dcabernel » Tue 24. Aug 2021, 14:51

Thank you.

I found the issue with my LabVIEW code. The command works now.

Post Reply