PCAN MicroMod Ground

Application-specific PCAN-MicroMod Motherboards
Post Reply
megafox
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed 8. Jul 2020, 07:36

PCAN MicroMod Ground

Post by megafox » Wed 8. Jul 2020, 07:42

Dear Peak Support Team,

I ordered your PCAN MicroMod FD Analog 1 for a measurement system and after reading the user manual etc. online I have one question;
Is there really only one GND for both analog inputs and outputs?

I'd have a couple of floating signals and I'm now afraid this doesn't work for me as I planned.

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
G.Bohlen
Hardware Development
Hardware Development
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed 22. Sep 2010, 21:38

Re: PCAN MicroMod Ground

Post by G.Bohlen » Wed 8. Jul 2020, 13:53

Hello,

please use Pin A11 (dual row I/O connector) GND for all Analog Inputs and Analog Outputs .
Internally this GND terminal is connected to GND-Pin 2 of the single row connector. But it is important to keep the Supply GND separat from the measurement GND A11.
The supply current to the module will create a voltage drop in the GND connection which would reduce the accuracy of the analog measurement.

Regard,
Gunnar Bohlen

User avatar
G.Bohlen
Hardware Development
Hardware Development
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed 22. Sep 2010, 21:38

Re: PCAN MicroMod Ground

Post by G.Bohlen » Thu 9. Jul 2020, 08:43

The I/O connector has only one GND pin for all analog inputs and outputs.
In many cases it is not possible to connect all required GND cables into one position, therefor a distribution block can help to increase the number of GND position,
e.g. PTFIX 18X2,5-G GY - 3273438.

Post Reply