PLIN Viewer Pro - communication MASTER-SLAVE problem

Windows® Compatible Software for Displaying LIN Messages
Post Reply
Ales1000
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri 4. Oct 2019, 09:01

PLIN Viewer Pro - communication MASTER-SLAVE problem

Post by Ales1000 » Thu 12. Aug 2021, 10:14

Hello,

I have problem with PLIN viewer (see attachment) on PCAN-USB Pro FD. When I press space button on MASTER part, data are sent but not come filled, also checksums aredifferent. When I use slave created programatically and MASTER from PLIN viewer, it works fine. Where can be the problem?

Thank you in advance.

Aleš
Attachments
PLIN_viewer_error.PNG
PLIN_viewer_error.PNG (398.22 KiB) Viewed 2500 times

M.Maidhof
Support
Support
Posts: 1344
Joined: Wed 22. Sep 2010, 14:00

Re: PLIN Viewer Pro - communication MASTER-SLAVE problem

Post by M.Maidhof » Thu 12. Aug 2021, 11:10

Hi,

please show the properties for ID 0x01 on the master and slave side.

regards

Michael

Ales1000
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri 4. Oct 2019, 09:01

Re: PLIN Viewer Pro - communication MASTER-SLAVE problem

Post by Ales1000 » Thu 12. Aug 2021, 11:13

Hello,

here it is shown.

Aleš
Attachments
PLIN_viewer_error_2.PNG
PLIN_viewer_error_2.PNG (367.34 KiB) Viewed 2494 times

M.Maidhof
Support
Support
Posts: 1344
Joined: Wed 22. Sep 2010, 14:00

Re: PLIN Viewer Pro - communication MASTER-SLAVE problem

Post by M.Maidhof » Thu 12. Aug 2021, 12:07

Hi,

looks like you missed the LIN voltage supply on the master side. Would be helpfull to resize the master receive window to see the errors.

regards

Michael

Ales1000
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri 4. Oct 2019, 09:01

Re: PLIN Viewer Pro - communication MASTER-SLAVE problem

Post by Ales1000 » Thu 12. Aug 2021, 12:13

You are right. How is it possible? I run this on one PCAN USB Pro FD device.

Aleš
Attachments
PLIN_viewer_error_3.PNG
PLIN_viewer_error_3.PNG (285.56 KiB) Viewed 2489 times

Ales1000
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri 4. Oct 2019, 09:01

Re: PLIN Viewer Pro - communication MASTER-SLAVE problem

Post by Ales1000 » Thu 12. Aug 2021, 12:17

It was maybe caused by current limit on source. I increased voltage and current limit and receiving this. Slave is not doing what I expected. It did not fill data. Do you now what is problem here?
Attachments
PLIN_viewer_error_4.PNG
PLIN_viewer_error_4.PNG (337.27 KiB) Viewed 2488 times

M.Maidhof
Support
Support
Posts: 1344
Joined: Wed 22. Sep 2010, 14:00

Re: PLIN Viewer Pro - communication MASTER-SLAVE problem

Post by M.Maidhof » Thu 12. Aug 2021, 12:19

See manual page 12:

https://www.peak-system.com/produktcd/P ... an_eng.pdf
PCAN-USB-Pro_Manual_page12.JPG
PCAN-USB-Pro_Manual_page12.JPG (51.95 KiB) Viewed 2488 times
Next problem: you did not send the publisher frame on the slave side. Hit the space bar to send the publisher frame to the slave hardware channel (count is 0 in your screenshot).

regards

Michael

Ales1000
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri 4. Oct 2019, 09:01

Re: PLIN Viewer Pro - communication MASTER-SLAVE problem

Post by Ales1000 » Thu 12. Aug 2021, 13:03

Yes, I have interconnected both CANNONs by cable and on pin 6 and 9 is supply voltage, so both CANNONs are connected to same supply source.

Why it is needed to send frames as a slave? Slave is not allowed to send frames alone, he needs to be requested by master, right? How many times I have to send frame as slave, from my experiment I found out, that it is possible to "active" slave by one hit.

Aleš

M.Maidhof
Support
Support
Posts: 1344
Joined: Wed 22. Sep 2010, 14:00

Re: PLIN Viewer Pro - communication MASTER-SLAVE problem

Post by M.Maidhof » Thu 12. Aug 2021, 13:19

To modify the publisher data of a slave node, you have to send a publisher frame in the slave publisher window, as you did it before in your first screenshot.

regards

Michael

Post Reply